top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhoan Spence

Celebrate Canada Day!

What is Canada Day?

Canada Day is a national holiday celebrating the country’s independence from Great Britain in 1867. The new nation, still loyal to Great Britain, was called the Dominion of Canada and consisted of only four provinces ((Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario, and Quebec). Now, there are 10 provinces and 3 territories. At first, the holiday was called Dominion Day, but in 1982 Canada gained complete independence from Great Britain and it was renamed to Canada Day.

It is a day for Canadians everywhere to show pride in their country’s history and culture.

While it may be referred to as Canada’s birthday, it is important to acknowledge and celebrate the country’s indigenous culture and its important role in the country’s rich history before 1867.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page